4.1 / 5


1 / 29

Question 1 of 29


A country known for its lush rainforests and reef-lined beaches, Jamaica is located in the Caribbean. Since 1996, the legal currency tender used in the country is the Jamaican Dollar. One Jamaican Dollar is divided into 100 cents.


In the Turkic language, the tenge means “a set of scales”. It has been the currency of Kazakhstan since November 1993.


The use of the Serbian dinar dates back to 1214. It has been used as the official currency of Serbia since 2003, post the disintegration of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia.


The lempira was introduced in 1931 and replaced the use of the peso. The currency is named after the 16th century ruler of the Lenca tribe.

Costa Rica

In the year 1896, the peso was replaced by the colon as the official currency of Costa Rica. It is issued and distributed by the International Bank of Costa Rica.


Subdivided into 100 chhertum, Nu is the symbol for ngultrum. The banknotes and coins are minted by the Royal Monetary Authority of Bhutan.

Hong Kong

During the period of Japanese occupation, the everyday form of exchange used in Hong Kong were Japanese military yen. The Hong Kong dollar was made the official currency in 1935.


Also called the peso convertible, the peso is the official currency used in Argentina. The currency is divided into 100 centavos.


The official currency of Cambodia is the Cambodian riel that trades at 4,000 riel to the US dollar. However, you can also carry out payment transactions with dollars.

South Africa

Divided into 100 cents, the rand carries the symbol “R”. The name of the currency is driven from the Witwatersrand, which is the ridge where huge gold deposits were found.


Iceland is one of the smallest countries by population and began to issue its own notes in 1885. The krona is composed of 100 aurar.


The official currency of Myanmar, the kyat is subdivided into 100 pyas. The currency notes are available in several denominations including K 200, K 500 and more.


The national currency unit used in Paraguay, the guarani is coded PYG. It is made up of 100 units known as centimos, however, centimos are no more in use due to inflation.


The som was introduced in 1993 and became the official currency of Uzbekistan. It replaced the Russian Ruble that was used until then.


The lev is the basic monetary unit used in the Balkan country, Bulgaria. The currency is divided into 100 stotinki and was first introduced in 1881.


One of the largest countries by size, the som is the official currency of Kyrgyzstan. The som may also be known as sum or soum and is used in many Turkic-speaking countries.


The Croatian kuna carries the currency code of HRK with the symbol kn. As the country welcomes a large number of tourists, many businesses also accept payments in euros.


The birr has been the official currency of Ethiopia since 1976. It is the second most-widely used unit of currency in Africa.


Iran has the 18th largest economy in the world and the Iranian rial is the official currency of the country. Coins are issued in 500, 1,000, 2,000, and 5,000 rials.


A country in Europe, Andorra is surrounded by Spain and France. While the country is not part of the EU, it did adopt the Euro of the EU. The nation did not have an official currency before the Euro and used currencies like the Spanish Peseta and the French Franc.


Niue is a tiny island country, it is a beautiful oasis. The country became one of the first countries in the world in 2003, to offer all its citizens free WiFi. Niue uses one legal tending currency that is the New Zealand Dollar.


Rwanda is a country situated in East Africa and is popular for its mountain gorillas. It draws a large number of tourists every year and its official currency is the Rwandan Franc. The currency code of the Franc is RWF.


Norway is a country situated in Europe and is noted for its adventure activities that include hiking, skiing, and fishing. The official currency of Norway and its dependent territories is the Krone. The literal translation of the Krone is crown.


Nicaragua is a country in Central America that is popularly known for its beaches, terrain lakes, and volcanoes. It is also home to some exquisite Spanish colonial architecture. The currency of Nicaragua is the Nicaraguan Córdoba


A country in the Middle East, Oman is officially known as the Sultanate of Oman. The official currency of the country is the Omani Rial. It is also one of the currencies that have a high value because it is an economically stable country.


Peru is widely known for its Amazonian rainforest, Machu Picchu, and the ancient Incan city. It is very rich in archaeological sites and draws a large number of tourists every year. The Peruvian Sol is the currency of Peru.


Angola is a beautiful country located in Central Africa. It boasts of a rich colonial history that can be viewed through its Portuguese-influenced structures and cuisine. The Angolan Kwanza is the currency used in the country and its code is AOA.


Ghana, a country located in West Africa, is officially known as the Republic of Ghana. It is widely known for its gold reserves and cocoa plantations. The official currency employed in Ghana is the Ghanaian Cedi and one Cedi is divided into one hundred pesewas.


Nigeria is a country based in West Africa and is widely known for its dense forest, savanna and wildlife reserves. The currency used in this country is the Nigerian Naira and the Central Bank of Nigeria is the sole legal tender of this money. One Nigerian Naira is subdivided into 100 kobo.

The world currency quiz

Accumulating money is always fun but it is even more exciting to have a bunch of coins and notes from different countries around the world. Take this quiz to find out how well you know your Krone from your Koruna.

The world currency quiz
The world currency quiz
The world currency quiz
7th Jul, 2020
Share your results: